Draupadi Murmu vs Yashwant Sinha in today’s presidential election: 10 facts

Draupadi Murmu vs Yashwant Sinha in today's presidential election: 10 facts

Presidential Election: NDA candidate Draupadi Murmu has a clear lead over Yashwant Sinha of the opposition.

New Delhi:
Elections will be held today to choose the 15th President of India – a race between NDA candidate Draupadi Murmu and Yashwant Sinha of the opposition. However, the contest is seen as a complete overhaul, counting the parties that declare support for Ms Murmu.

Here are the top 10 updates to this story:

  1. The elections will be held on the first day of the monsoon session of Parliament. Draupadi Murmu, 64, was a strong contender for the country’s highest office before the 2017 presidential election, until then Bihar governor Ram Nath Kovind, a Dalit, was named as the government’s choice for the post.

  2. The NDA’s choice of Ms Murmu – a tribal woman from Odisha and former Jharkhand governor – is seen as a well thought out move, supported not only by Jharkhand’s ruling Jharkhand Mukti Morcha, but also by Odisha’s Naveen Patnaik. , seen as a fence-sitter.

  3. Ms Murmu has also been assured of support by Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar, who has been on the same page as ally BJP until recently.

  4. Both factions of the Shiv Sena – whose split and the subsequent collapse of the Maharashtra government have been in the news for weeks – are also expected to support Ms. Murmu.

  5. While the BJP-affiliated Eknath Shinde faction was supporting the NDA candidate, the Uddhav Thackeray-led faction is also supporting him.

  6. The Thackeray faction, which was backing opposition candidate Yashwant Sinha, decided to switch after 16 MPs met Uddhav Thackeray and suggested he should vote for Ms. Murmu, a tribal woman. Mr. Sinha has claimed that Mr. Thackeray has been forced to support Ms. Murmu.

  7. The opposition settled on Mr Sinha – a former Union minister in the Atal Bihari Vajpayee government who later joined the Trinamool Congress – after three proposed candidates said no.

  8. National Congress chief Sharad Pawar, former governor Gopal Krishna Gandhi and former Jammu and Kashmir chief minister Farooq Abdullah had refused, citing various reasons.

  9. The President is elected by the members of the Electoral College, which includes both the Houses of Parliament and the Legislative Assemblies of all states, as well as elected members of the National Capital Territory of Delhi and the Union Territory of Puducherry.

  10. No party whip can be issued for voting and MPs and MLAs can vote of their own free will. According to the schedule announced by the Election Commission, the counting of votes will take place on July 21 and the new President will be sworn in on July 25.

Leave a Comment