Draupadi Murmu, Yashwant Sinha face to face as MLA, MP ready to vote today

New Delhi: NDA candidate Draupadi Murmu and opposition candidate Yashwant Sinha are in a face-off as nearly 4,800 elected MPs and MLAs vote on Monday to elect the 15th President of India. NDA candidate Draupadi Murmu has a clear lead over Sinha as more than 60 per cent votes are expected to be cast in her favour, news agency PTI reported. Voting for the presidential election will begin at 10 am and end at 5 pm, for which the ballot boxes have already reached their destination. The counting of votes will take place on July 21 at the Parliament House and after the results are out on July 25, the swearing-in ceremony of the new President will take place.

Also read: Monsoon Session | 32 Bills pointed out by various departments, 14 ready: Govt

Election preparations have been completed as six booths have been set up in room number 63 of the Parliament House. A total of nine MLAs from different states will vote in the Parliament House, including four from UP, two from Tripura and one each from Assam, Odisha and Haryana, while 42 MPs will vote in the assemblies.

President Ram Nath Kovind’s five-year term ends on July 24, and according to Article 62 of the Constitution, the election of the next president must take place before the incumbent’s term ends.

Draupadi Murmu is the NDA candidate in the presidential election. She has previously served as the ninth governor of Jharkhand from 2015 to 2021. If Murmu wins the presidential election, she will become the first tribal woman to become president.

Yashwant Sinha is the choice of the opposition

Former Union Minister Yashwant Sinha has been chosen as the presidential candidate from the opposition. He served as the finance minister in the government of former PM Chandrashekhar from 1990 to 1991 and then in the government of former prime minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee from 1998 to 2002. Yashwant Sinha also served as the Minister of External Affairs. He was a senior leader of the Bharatiya Janata Party before leaving the party in 2018. He then joined the All India Trinamool Congress. However, he left TMC a day before he was elected as the presidential candidate.

NDA candidate Draupadi Murmu has a clear lead over the opposition candidate

Former Jharkhand governor and tribal leader Draupadi Murmu was named as the BJP-led NDA’s presidential candidate for the upcoming elections, with NDA candidate Draupadi Murmu believed to have the upper hand in the presidential election. He has got the support of regional parties like BJD, YSRCP, BSP, AIADMK, TDP, JD(S), Shiromani Akali Dal, Shiv Sena and JMM. Draupadi Murmu’s vote share is likely to reach nearly two-thirds. As per the PTI report, the NDA candidate now has over 6.67 lakh votes out of a total of 10,86,431 votes with the support of various regional parties.

What is the value of votes of MPs and MLAs?

The electoral college that elects the President through the system of proportional representation consists of elected MPs and members of state legislatures. Nominated MPs and MLAs, and members of the Legislative Council are not entitled to vote in this election.

The system of secret ballot is followed and parties cannot issue whip to their MPs and MLAs regarding voting.

MPs will get green color ballot paper, MLAs will get pink color ballot paper to cast their vote. The different colors help the returning officer to find out the value of the vote of each MLA and MP as per the instructions of the Election Commission.

To ensure voting secrecy, the Election Commission has issued a specially designed pen with purple ink to enable voters to mark their ballots in the presidential election.

According to the Election Commission, this time the value of an MP’s vote is 700. At the same time, the value of each MLA’s vote is different in different states. The value of each MLA’s vote is 208 in Uttar Pradesh, 176 in Jharkhand and Tamil Nadu. It is followed by Maharashtra with 175. The vote value of each MLA is seven in Sikkim, nine in Nagaland and eight in Mizoram. After the voting, the results of the presidential election will be announced on July 21.

Leave a Comment