MP Municipal Election Result 2022: Big victory for BJP; PM Modi congratulates Shivraj Singh Chouhan

MP Nagar Election Phase 1 Result 2022: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has so far won five places in the mayoral elections held in 11 municipal corporations held on Sunday evening in Madhya Pradesh. Congress and Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) got one seat each.

The BJP won mayoral elections in Burhanpur, Satna, Khandwa, Sagar and Ujjain, the Congress in Chhindwara, while the Arvind Kejriwal-led AAP, which contested civic polls in MP for the first time, bagged the post in Singrauli. PTI report

Prime Minister Narendra Modi congratulated the winning candidates, Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan and BJP workers in the state.

“Thank you voters for reposing their faith in BJP in Madhya Pradesh civic polls. This victory is a symbol of people’s unwavering faith in Chouhan Shivraj,” he tweeted.
State government. Many congratulations to the party workers as well as all the winning candidates,” he tweeted in Hindi.

In the last elections, the Congress had failed to win even one out of the total 16 corporations in the state. The party that won in Chhindwara, which is considered to be the stronghold of Chief Minister Kamal Nath, has got some relief from the latest results.

Kamal Nath had to resign as Chief Minister in March 2020, as the party lost majority in the House following the resignation of 22 MLAs who were loyal to Scindia. Scindia and his followers later joined the BJP. The rebellion in 2020 by Scindia, who was with the Congress at the time, resulted in the fall of the Kamal Nath-led government in the state within 15 months of coming to power.

After a gap of 18 years, the Congress has also expressed confidence of victory in Jabalpur.

(with PTI inputs)

Leave a Comment