Presidential Election 2022: 4,800 MPs, MLAs to elect the new President of India; Cakewalk for NDA’s Draupadi Murmu?

Presidential election 2022: Around 4,800 elected MPs (Members of Parliament) and MLAs (Members of Legislative Assembly) to elect the 15th President of India on Monday, July 18, 2022, along with NDA (National Democratic Alliance) candidate Draupadi Murmu Will vote The opposition has a clear lead over Yashwant Sinha as over 60 per cent votes are expected to be cast in his favour.

Polling will take place between 10 am and 5 pm in Parliament House and state legislatures, for which the ballot boxes have already reached their destination.

Presidential election result date: Counting of votes will be held on 21st July in Parliament House and next President will take oath on 25th July.

With the support of regional parties like BJD, YSRCP, BSP, AIADMK, TDP, JD(S), Shiromani Akali Dal, Shiv Sena and now JMM, Murmu’s vote share is likely to reach nearly two-thirds and he is set to become the leader of the party. The first woman from the tribal community to occupy the top constitutional post.

The National Democratic Alliance (NDA) candidate now has over 6.67 lakh votes out of a total of 10,86,431 votes, with the support of various regional parties.

The electoral college that elects the President through the system of proportional representation consists of elected MPs and members of state legislatures. Nominated MPs and MLAs, and members of the Legislative Council are not entitled to vote in this election.

The system of secret ballot is followed and parties cannot issue whip to their MPs and MLAs regarding voting.

Due to the absence of a Legislative Assembly in Jammu and Kashmir, the value of the vote of a Member of Parliament in this Presidential election has come down from 708 to 700.

The value of an MLA’s vote varies from state to state. In Uttar Pradesh, the vote value of each MLA is 208, followed by Jharkhand and Tamil Nadu at 176. In Maharashtra, it is 175. In Sikkim, the value of vote per MLA is seven, while it is nine in Nagaland and eight in Mizoram.

Before naming Sinha, former Union minister and BJP leader, the opposition camp had approached Mahatma Gandhi’s grandson and former West Bengal governor Gopalkrishna Gandhi, NCP supremo Sharad Pawar and National Conference leader Farooq Abdullah to contest the election.

After refusing to be a part of the electoral battle, Sinha, the then vice-president of the Trinamool Congress, was nominated as the opposition’s candidate. The President is elected according to the system of proportional representation by means of the single transferable vote.

According to the system of proportional representation, through the single transferable vote, each elector can mark as many preferences as the number of candidates contesting the election.

These preferences for the candidates are to be marked by the voter by placing the numbers 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, and so on, against the names of the candidates, in the order of preference, at the space provided in the column. of ballot 2.

This is the reason why it is not used in electronic voting machines as well as in Vice President, Rajya Sabha and Legislative Council elections. EVMs are based on a technology where they act as an aggregator of votes in direct elections such as Lok Sabha and State Assemblies.

As per the directions of the Election Commission, MPs will get green colored ballot papers, while MLAs will get pink colored ballot papers for voting. The different colors help the Returning Officer to find out the value of the vote of each MLA and MP.

Seeking to maintain the secrecy of voting, the Election Commission has released a specially designed pen with purple ink to enable voters to mark their ballots in the presidential election.

with PTI inputs

Leave a Comment