Presidential Election: 4,800 MPs and MLAs will vote today for the election of the 15th President of India. All you need to know

The term of President of India Ram Nath Kovind ends on July 24. According to Article 62 of the Constitution of India, an election to fill a vacancy caused by the expiration of the term of office of the outgoing President is required to be completed before the expiry of the term.

Around 4,800 elected MPs and MLAs will vote on Monday to elect India’s 15th President, with NDA candidate Draupadi Murmu having a clear edge over opposition’s Yashwant Sinha as over 60 per cent votes are expected to be cast in her favour.

Election of 15th President of India: All you need to know

According to Article 54 of the Constitution of India, the President is elected by the members of the Electoral College, which include:

Elected members of both the Houses of Parliament, and elected members of the Legislative Assemblies of all the states, including the National Capital Territory of Delhi and the Union Territory of Puducherry. Polling will take place between 10 am and 5 pm in Parliament House and state assemblies. Ballot boxes that have reached their destination.

The commission will supply special pens for marking votes. On handing over the ballot paper, a pen will be given to the voters at the polling station by the designated officer. Voters have to mark the ballot paper only with this particular pen and not with any other pen. Voting using any other pen at the time of counting will render the vote invalid.

Generally, Members of Parliament are expected to cast their vote at the polling place at Parliament House, New Delhi. Similarly, the members of the State Legislative Assemblies are expected to vote in the respective State Legislative Assembly.

However, due to any exigencies or special circumstances, Member of Parliament may vote at any approved polling place in the Legislative Assemblies of the States/National Capital Territory of Delhi/Union Territory of Puducherry. In similar circumstances, an MLA can vote at the polling place in Parliament House, New Delhi or at any approved polling place in the Legislative Assembly of other States/National Capital Territory of Delhi/Puducherry.

Counting of votes will take place on July 21 at Parliament House and the next President will take oath on July 25.

With the support of regional parties like BJD, YSRCP, BSP, AIADMK, TDP, JD(S), Shiromani Akali Dal, Shiv Sena and now JMM, Murmu’s vote share is likely to reach nearly two-thirds and he is set to become the leader of the party. The first woman from the tribal community to occupy the top constitutional post. The National Democratic Alliance (NDA) candidate now has over 6.67 lakh votes out of a total of 10,86,431 votes, with the support of various regional parties.

The value of an MLA’s vote varies from state to state. In Uttar Pradesh, the vote value of each MLA is 208, followed by Jharkhand and Tamil Nadu at 176. In Maharashtra, it is 175. In Sikkim, the value of vote per MLA is seven, while it is nine in Nagaland and eight in Mizoram.

These preferences for the candidates are to be marked by the voter by placing the numbers 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 and so on, against the names of the candidates, in the order of preference, at the space provided in column 2. Ballot paper.

As per the directions of the Election Commission, MPs will get green colored ballot papers, while MLAs will get pink colored ballot papers for voting. The different colors help the Returning Officer to find out the value of the vote of each MLA and MP.

Watch all politics news and updates on Live Mint. Download Mint News App to get Daily Market Updates and Live Business News.

more less


, !

Leave a Comment