Six IPL franchises bought teams in SA T20 League; Graeme Smith appointed commissioner | cricket news

Mumbai: Among the bids that have come for six franchises to buy teams in the upcoming cricket South Africa (CSA) T20 league, the owners of Indian Premier League (IPL) teams broke them all in a process conducted by audit and consultancy firm Deloitte.
Five-time IPL champions Mumbai Indians departed Cape Town, four-time winners Chennai Super Kings snatched Johannesburg, Delhi Capitals bought pretoria, Lucknow Super Giants Durban, Sunrisers Hyderabad bought Port Elizabeth and Rajasthan Royals bought Paarl.
Former South Africa captain Graeme Smith has been appointed as the commissioner, the first instance of a cricketer leading a T20 league.

SA T20 League

The CSA-backed league is the brainchild of former IPL COO Sundar Raman.
A better draft of the franchise agreements is still being looked into by Deloitte and an official announcement will be made between Tuesday and Thursday this week.
Cricket South Africa recently scrapped their bilateral commitment to make time and space for an all-new league to begin in January next year in Australia.
While the league will certainly help CSAs financially by having investors on board, time zones allow CSAs to benefit immensely from the way the country caters to global time zones.
Moreover, this T20 league is bound to come as a shot for the IPL as the marquee Indian T20 asset goes global in every sense of the word. For the record, South Africa has 11 IPL titles among four of the six IPL franchises that have bought teams.
“This would make the IPL a topic of discussion for more than three months to be played in India,” say those tracking the developments, given that the IPL franchises have stampeded their presence. will improve further.” ,

Leave a Comment