Vice President: How opposition candidate Margaret Alva will win, churn at Sharad Pawar’s house


Margaret Alva to file her nomination for Vice President on Tuesday
The election for the Vice President is to be held on 6 August

New Delhi. Leaders of several opposition parties met on Monday to decide their strategy regarding the joint opposition candidate Margaret Alva in the vice presidential election. Margaret Alva also attended the meeting held at the residence of Nationalist Congress Party chief Sharad Pawar. After the meeting, Pawar tweeted, “A meeting of leaders of opposition parties was held at my New Delhi residence this evening to discuss the election of the Vice President. Alva will file her nomination on Tuesday and many opposition leaders will be present on the occasion. Senior Congress leaders Mallikarjun Kharge and Jairam Ramesh, CPI(M) general secretary Sitaram Yechury, CPI general secretary D Raja, DMK leader Kanimozhi, Samajwadi Party’s Ram Gopal Yadav and several other opposition leaders were present at the meeting held at Pawar’s residence.

election on 6 august
Opposition parties have fielded senior Congress leader Margaret Alva as their joint candidate for the vice presidential election. He is pitted against Jagdeep Dhankhar, the candidate of the National Democratic Alliance. Voting for the Vice Presidential election will be held on August 6. The last date for filing nominations is July 19. Scrutiny of nomination papers will be held on July 20. Candidates will be able to withdraw their names till July 22. After this, the election of the Vice President will be held on 6 August. After the completion of the voting process, the counting of votes will take place on the same day and the name of the Vice President will be announced on the same day. After this, on August 10, the winning candidates will take oath as the Vice President of the country.

What is electoral math
NDA candidate Jagdeep Dhankhar, 71, is almost certain to become the Vice President. Because BJP can make someone Vice President on its own. Members of Parliament vote in the Vice Presidential election. At present, there are 780 members in both the houses and a vote of 391 members will be required to win the post of Vice President. BJP alone has 394 members in both the houses but its allies and some other parties will also vote for its candidate.

Tags:, Governor Jagdeep Dhankhar, Opposition Parties, Vice President Venkaiah Naidu

Leave a Comment