Zimbabwe beat Netherlands in T20 World Cup qualifying final. cricket news

Bulawayo: Hosts Zimbabwe beat the Netherlands by 37 runs in the final of the Twenty20 World Cup qualifying tournament on Sunday and will take on Ireland, Scotland and the West Indies in the final.
The Netherlands also qualified for the tournament in Australia from 16 October and were relegated to the second first round group along with Namibia, Sri Lanka and the United Arab Emirates.
The winners and runners-up in each category advance to the Super 12 stage, joined by title holders Australia, Afghanistan, Bangladesh, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan and South Africa.
Beating the Dutch confirmed Zimbabwe as the dominant team in the southern city of Bulawayo as they won all five matches, including three more semi-finals, in Group A under new coach Dave Houghton.
Batting first for the fifth time in a row, the hosts scored 132 runs over 20 runs from only number three batsman Sean Williams (28) and opener Regis Chakabwa (27).
Sikandar Raza, often the top scorer, acted with the ball, taking four Dutch wickets for the loss of just eight runs in a four-over spell, including a maiden.
In response, apart from opener Stephan Myberg (22) and middle-order Teja Nidamanuru (21), the Dutch performed worse with the bat than the home team and were dismissed for 95.
Bas de Leede, who scored an unbeaten 91 in the semi-final win over the United States, managed just one run before being leg-out by Wesley Madhevere.

Leave a Comment